The British education system is second to none in its quality, consistency, reliability, integrity, adaptability and comprehensive coverage.

The education system in the UK is also split into “Key Stages” which breaks down as follows:

  • Key Stage 1: 5 to 7 years old
  • Key Stage 2: 7 to 11 years old
  • Key Stage 3: 11 to 14 years old
  • Key Stage 4: 14 to 16 years old
  • Key Stage 5: 16 to 18 years old

At the end of Key Stage 4, all pupils in the UK take their first important examinations, called GCSEs (General Certificate of Secondary Education).

Upon successful completion of GCSEs, pupils can move on to further education at Key Stage 5, taking A Levels, the IB Diploma or BTECs. These examinations are required for entry into Universities (Higher Education), either here in the UK or abroad.