The Nursery’s safe, nurturing and stimulating environment provides the perfect setting for children to begin the first stages of learning.

Through organised play and fun, teacher-led activities, your child will cover the seven areas that constitute the Early Learning Goals. These are:

Communication & Language

To develop listening, concentration, attention, understanding and speaking skills.


To develop reading and writing skills.


To develop problem-solving skills and familiarity with numbers, shapes, measures and space.

Expressive Arts & Design

To develop creative skills through exploration, imagination, media and materials.

Understanding the World

To develop an understanding of people, communities, technology and the world itself.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

To develop self-awareness, self-confidence, manage feelings and behaviour and form relationships.

Physical Development

To develop movement and handling skills, as well as health and safe care.

The Early Learning Goals were devised by the School Curriculum and Assessment Authority and recommended by the Department for Education and Employment and are more recently known as the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).